Real Name: Daniel Babai

Dephrase is Daniel Babai, a Boston-based producer with roots in hip-hop and love for all music. By resampling original material and using heavy analog synthesis, Daniel strives to evoke the soulful feelings of hip-hop through home-grown samples and carefully crafted synths. Tempted by the Golden Era of hip-hop as well as recent happenings in the urban electronic realm, Daniel has recently dove into the music production in an attempt to define human and natural interactions through the creation of sound. He loves to work with musicians and artists of all sorts, broadening his scope of knowledge as well as spreading love and good cheer to others.

Gloom Bap 12-Inch

Dephrase: Producer

Gloom Bap is a collection of sonic oddities Dephrase (Daniel Babai) juggled for about a year or so during a transformational time in his life. The entire collection consists of 7 tracks each taking you to a different part of the fruit punch Atari rainforest river. While this is a very eclectic and playful body of work, there is bitter and somber amongst the sweet. Dephrase describes it as “the diary of finding his sound.”

Special thanks to Alex Grey and the Transcendent Nation Foundation for letting us use a snippet of their audio on “Here Before Us.” You can hear the rest of their “Save the World” interview series at

You can check out Dephrase’s SoundCloud at

Also available for purchase on vinyl here:


Daniel Babai-Composition and Mixing Andy Carballeira-Mastering (Herd Studio) David Dolan-Artwork Alex Grey-Speech on “Here Before Us”

Bedroom Classics Vol. 1 Compilation

5am: Contributor, Masterer

A. Campbell Payne: Contributor

B∩MSTEAD: Contributor

David Yanofsky: Cover Artist

Dephrase: Contributor

EXIN MUSIC: Contributor

Kittenmildew: Contributor

Kuh-Lida: Contributor

LEAFTYPE: Contributor

Luc Lacerte: Masterer

Max Krieger: Contributor

Modus: Contributor

RYV: Contributor

Rave Matthew's Band: Contributor

SCRVB: Contributor

Tokyo Megaplex: Contributor

Bedroom Classics Vol. 1 is the second compilation album from Belgian Man Records. It includes sixteen previously unreleased tracks, each by a different artist.

Check out the video for can-f at


Check out Andrew Monks’ video for can-f dropping later today on

Album cover by David Yanofsky

Alternate covers by David Dolan, Matthew Gallagher, Max Krieger, and Owen McGarry

Mastering by Luc Lacerte and Sam Andrus