Owen McGarry

Member Of:

Owen Payette McGarry is a maker and musician based out Wellington, New Zealand. He is a member of i am (noun), with Remy Steele, and Polar Bear, with Aaron fartmouth Gundy. He releases music under his own name and as Machinery Of Nature.

The Heavy Burden Of Existentialism Album

Luc Lacerte: Masterer

Owen McGarry: Producer, Cover Artist

Three years in the making, the composition of Owen Payette McGarry’s The Heavy Burden of Existentialism has spanned three continents and five countries. In this piece, the four channels of the Nintendo gameboy dance and drone contemplatively to invoke bleak, nuanced landscapes evocative of the dynamism and malignant nature of South Pacific surrounding the composer on the cover. Within the somber waves of each piece are clandestine suggestions of classical beauty, presented fleetingly to beguile the supplicant listener. This ephemeral human quality ultimately culminates in the piece titled The Barrens with the addition of vocals performed Katie Greenwood Ross. However, even during these most unguarded and comparatively venerable moments, the humanity is buried, burdened and muddy, struggling to stay at the surface of the cold consuming torrent of two-bit force and as we listen, common sense tells us that our existence is but a brief crack of light between two eternities of darkness.


Music by Owen Payette McGarry except where noted, Mastering by Luc Lacerte, Album cover by Owen Payette McGarry, Cover photography by Erik Schiller

Space Disco (Owen McGarry Remix) Remix

David Yanofsky: Cover Artist

Owen McGarry: Remixer

Owen McGarry’s new remix, violently birthed from the stems of RobotSexMusic’s spawn, will make forceful, tender love to your ear drums, first the right one, and then the other one.

This song will allow you to party harder, faster and more efficiently than humans.

Owen McGarry has seen colors with pigments darker than black, and has only ever experienced true love. He doesn’t have parents and is from the future.

If Owen McGarry could feel gratitude, he would express it for cheese cake, and for David Yanofsky’s art direction.


Photograph by David Yanofsky. Original song by RobotSexMusic, AKA Peter Hegarty

http://blgn.mn/owen http://blgn.mn/david

Take Me Home Single W/ Remixes

Owen McGarry: Remixer

Back in the dusty days of 2011, Tiburoni released the first volume of the Skweee Shanties compilations. The comp featured a cheeky wee devil of a tune called “Dirty Clap” from the highlander himself: Radio Skotvoid. This latest joint release from RSVP and Tiburoni celebrates not just one or two but THIRTEEN different takes on the that track! A few Tiburoni regulars and some very special guests take part in the remix duties and to top it all off, the original track has been updated and treated to an amazing vocal addition from the one and only Reachout.

Videojuego Paraíso Split EP

A. Campbell Payne: Producer

Owen McGarry: Owen McGarry

Bienvinedos a paraíso 2012, prepara para bailar. ESTA NOCHE NO DUERMEMOS!

Fiesta fiesta fiesta! Fiesta sin fin!


Videojuego Paraíso; por Owen McGarry y A. Campbell Payne

Throbbin' Da Banks Single

i am (noun): Remixed

Owen McGarry: Producer, Cover Artist

Throbbin’ Da Banks is a new single by Owen McGarry. It features a remix of a track by i am (noun), Owen McGarry’s duo with fellow Providence RI musician Remy Steele.


Throbbin’ Da Banks is by Owen McGarry http://blgn.mn/owen Then It Drops is originally by i am (noun) http://blgn.mn/noun Album cover by Owen McGarry http://blgn.mn/owen

Pianophant Single

Andrew Monks: Cover Artist

Fenn Macon: Remixer

LEAFTYPE: Producer

Owen McGarry: Remixer

Thanks to everyone at CalArts who helped me Fenn and Owen, too.

But also you and other peeps. And Germany. Thanks, Germany.

—Christopher Knollmeyer


Written and produced by Christopher Knollmeyer Album cover by Andrew Monks

Return Of The Witch Doctor LP

Owen McGarry: Producer, Cover Artist

BANDCAMP CAN’T HANDLE THE TRUTH. REAL ALBUM COVER: http://www.belgianman.com/witch.gif

Return Of The Witch Doctor is the first original album on Belgian Man by Providence, RI musician Owen McGarry, who is also a member of i am (noun).


Written and produced by Owen McGarry Album cover by Owen McGarry

2011 Minitour DJ Mixes

Owen McGarry: DJ

The 2011 Minitour Mix is a collection of 2 live mixes played by Owen McGarry of i am (noun) in december 2011. Side A was in Philadelphia, and side B was in Sudbury, MA.

SIDE A: The Heavens - The Chariot m - thrøwy Arms (Dylan Reece Remix) - Genghis Tron Y - iamamiwhoami Screen Hallucinations - Battle Lava Guillotine - Death Grips Jump Around (Sabo’s Moombahstep Edit) - House of Pain Colonialism - Bangs The Mixtape (clip) - EPROM Lovely Bloodflow - Baths The Game Is Not Over (feat. J-Dilla, Phat Kat & Dabrye) - edIT BTSTU - Jai Paul 64 Bytes - EPROM Shoplifter - EPROM Jump Up (feat. Leftside & Supahype) - Major Lazer Look At Me Now (Ft. Lil’ Wayne & Busta Rhymes) - Chris Brown Get Em (ft. Eve) - Wolfgang Gartner Squibble Step - Team Toothpaste Wild Card - Wolfgang Gartner Internet Friends - Knife Party Shave it - Zedd Something [unreleased, untitled] - i am [noun]

SIDE B: Look At Me Now (Ft. Lil’ Wayne & Busta Rhymes) - Chris Brown Posed to Death (The Calculators Remix) - The Faint Save the World (Knife Party Remix) - Swedish House Mafia Arms (Dylan Reece Remix) - Genghis Tron Y - iamamiwhoami Troglodytes - Rout Screen Hallucinations - Battle Lava Menage a Trois - Wolfgang Gartner Brazzer’s Theme (Munchi’s Fuck That It’s Bangbros Remix) - Dillon Francis Pipe Dream - EPROM Wild Card - Wolfgang Gartner Shave It - Zedd When You Hear The Bassline (Ft. Ms. Thing) - Major Lazer Artsy Remix (Ft. The Grouch) - edIT Tempora - Bro Safari & LeDoom The Jester - Enter Shikari into deep - technoboy Raise Your Weapon (Noisia Remix) - Deadmau5 The State - Porter Robinson Intro - i am [noun] Chip Shop (Will Bailey Remix) - Will Bailey Gandhi, Mate - Enter Shikari One (Your Name) - Swedish House Mafia Turbulence - Laidback Luke & Steve Aoki feat. Lil Jon Who Is Ready To Jump (Dillon Francis Remix) - Chuckie Internet Friends - Knife Party Ruffneck (Full Flex) - Skrillex Destroy Them With Lasers - Knife Party Fire Hive - Knife Party Believe Me (Botnek Remix) - AC Slater & Xaphoon Jones

Stop Saying Words Then Don't Stop Stopping Saying Them DJ Mix

Andrew Monks: Cover Artist

Owen McGarry: DJ

This is a new mix by Owen McGarry, of Machinery Of Nature and i am (noun).



Prutataaa - Afrojack & R3hab Rolling in the Heat (Heatwave Remix) - Adele & Jamie XX vs Cecile, Mr Lexx & Timberlee Latin Fever - Wolfgang Gartner Deodorant Can’t Fix Ugly - Iwrestledabearonce De-Pimp Act - Luke Vibert Shame on a Nigger - Wu Tang Clan U-1 - iamamiwhoami Horsey - Diplo Que Que - Diplo & Dillon Francis Latin Fever (Zedd remix) - Wolfgang Gartner DRINKIN’ BOYS - DJ OZMA Arms (Dylan Reece Remix) - Genghis Tron Y - iamamiwhoami Illcoobe - Tokyo Megaplex Nerves - Bangs The Mixtape - EPROM Mary the Night (Zedd Remix) - Lady Gaga The Bottle Song - R3hab 100% in the Bitch - Porter Robinson